For the third consecutive year, Erykah Badu handled hosting duties at the 2017 BET Soul Train Awards, but this year, she kicked things off a little differently.

“I know I usually do a big elaborate musical number right here, but right now I feel I need to this,” Badu said before taking a knee, a show of support for former NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick. “This is for Kap. Kap we appreciate you giving your life, giving up your dream, ‘cause you believe in us.”

The show, which celebrated its 30th anniversary this year, aired on BET Sunday night (November 26), a few weeks after being taped in Las Vegas November 5.

SZA, DJ Khaled and Cardi B were among a number of Hip Hop artists to take home honors this year.

DJ Khaled beat Jazmine Sullivan and Bryson Tiller, Mary J. Blige, Solange and SZA to win Best Collaboration for his single, “Wild Thoughts.”

Cardi B’s ever-popular “Bodak Yellow” won the Rhythm & Bars Award, beating French Montana, Kendrick Lamar, Yo Gotti and DJ Khaled. SZA walked away with two awards; one for Best New Artist and another for Best R&B/Soul Female Artist.

Solange was the most nominated artist going into the ceremony, notching an impressive seven nominations. She left with just one award while the night’s big winner — Bruno Mars — walked away with five honors from a possible six.

In the Best Gospel/Inspirational Award category, Lecrae beat Chance the Rapper, Charlie Wilson, Kirk Franklin and Tamela Mann.

The ceremony also feature performances by several artists, including a surprise performance from SWV, Keyshia Cole, Method Man, Tank and U-God.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best New Artist
Kevin Ross

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist
Bruno Mars* — WINNER
Bryson Tiller
Chris Brown
The Weeknd

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist
Lalah Hathaway
Mary J. Blige

Soul Train Certified Award
Bell Biv Devoe* — WINNER
Johnny Gill
Lalah Hathaway
Ledisi* — WINNER
Mack Wilds

Video Of The Year
Beyoncé – “All Night”
Bruno Mars* – “24K Magic” — WINNER
Chris Brown f. Usher & Gucci Mane – “Party”
DJ Khaled f. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”
Solange – “Cranes In The Sky”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award
Chance the Rapper
Charlie Wilson
Kirk Franklin
Lecrae* — WINNER
Tamela Mann

Album/Mixtape Of The Year
Bruno Mars* – 24k Magic — WINNER
Mary J. Blige – Strength Of A Woman
Solange – A Seat At The Table
The Weeknd – Starboy

Rhythm & Bars Award (Formerly Best Hip-Hop Song Of The Year)
Cardi B* – “Bodak Yellow” — WINNER
DJ Khaled f. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”
French Montana f. Swae Lee – “Unforgettable”
Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.”
Yo Gotti f. Nicki Minaj – “Rake It Up”

Song Of The Year
Bruno Mars* – “That’s What I Like” — WINNER
Childish Gambino – “Redbone”
DJ Khaled f. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”
Khalid – “Location”
Solange – “Cranes In The Sky”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award
“Cranes In The Sky” – Written By: Troy L. John, Solange Knowles, Raphael Saadiq (Solange)* — WINNER
“Location” – Written By: Alfredo Emmanuel Gonzalez, Olatunji Olutomiwa, Samuel David Jimenez, Khalid Robinson, Joshua Scruggs (Khalid)
“Love Me Now” – Written By: Blake Matthew Simon Mills, John Henry Ryan, John Roger Stephens (John Legend)
“Redbone” – Written By: George Clinton, William Earl Collins, Gary Lee Cooer, Donaldmckinley Glover Ii, Ludwig Emil Tomas Goransson (Childish Gambino)
“Versace On The Floor” – Written By: Christopher Steven Brown, James Edward Fauntleroy, Bruno Mars, Philip Martin Lawrence (Bruno Mars)

Best Dance Performance
Bruno Mars* – “24K Magic” — WINNER
Chris Brown f. Usher & Gucci Mane – “Party”
DJ Khaled f. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts”
Solange f. Sampha – “Don’t Touch My Hair”
Wizkid f. Drake – “Come Closer”

Best Collaboration
DJ Khaled f. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller* – “Wild Thoughts” — WINNER
Jazmine Sullivan & Bryson Tiller – “Insecure”
Mary J. Blige f. Kanye West – “Love Yourself”
Solange f. Sampha – “Don’t Touch My Hair”
SZA f. Travis Scott – “Love Galore”

Entertainment News

Leave a Comment